Nominated for the 1980 Pulitzer Prize in Music, William Ferris's Snowcarols receives its world premiere recording. Performed by the William Ferris Chorale, directed by Paul French, Snowcarols is filled with memorable melodies and brilliant orchestrations. Also included are several shorter, Christmas-themed works by the acclaimed choral director and composer. This unique program reveals the big-hearted spirit of a giant of American choral music.

Add To Cart

Listen to a sample track:

Track Listings and Performers

  1. The Lord Said to Me
  2. Gentle Mary
  3. Lift Up Your Heads, O Mighty Gates
  4. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly
  5. O Mary of Graces
  6. Long is Our Winter
  7. Hail Mary
  8. Come, Lord, and Tarry Not
  9. Creator of the Stars of Night


  1. The snow lies thick upon the earth tonight
  2. The snow lay on the ground
  3. In the bleak mid-winter
  4. See amid the winter snow
  5. Christmas Eve

 William Ferris Chorale / Composer Festival Orchestra / Paul French, conductor / Paul Nicholson, organ